You’re NOT a Mac. I’m NOT a PC.

Posted: June 7, 2010 in Marketing
Tags:

Hi. I'm a Mac. And I'm a PC.Dear Fundraising Friend:

You’ve probably seen the Mac VS PC ads from Apple that feature these two guys? They’re popular (at least 24 ads). I’m a big fan. And those ads really work with me.

This type of comparative ad is legal, and you see it all the time. But not in the world of nonprofit… Which led me to wonder, “Are charities and nonprofits simply not bold enough to use ads like that?

Can you picture it?

  • For every $20 you give, we provide 125 patients with test for HIV. Charity X only does 75.
  • Last year we fed 154,000 hungry children. Charity X only feed 75,000.
  • More of your money goes directly to our mission than any other charity.

I don’t know about you… But now that I think about it. I don’t like this.

First of all, do you really want to give your competitor free PR?

But also the only purpose of these ads is to mention a competitor and then pull a “Brand Smackdown,” no matter how mild, on them. That could lead to people losing their trust in what we all do.

Excelsior!

Leave a comment